Andrew Baird

Andrew Baird founded Engineering Contract Strategies (ECS) in 1993 to provide independent professional services on contracts to all sectors of the engineering and construction industry.

He graduated with honours as a civil engineer in the UK in 1963. His background includes work in the design office on a variety of hydro electric and tunnelling projects in UK, USA and South Africa, and several years experience on construction sites with major contractors. This included work on most prestressed concrete structures, large diameter concrete pipelines, process plants and power stations.

His senior level appointments included factory manager & Group Technical Manager for a pipe manufacturer, Project Engineer on a wide range of major engineering projects in Libya, including the deep water harbour and Fast Attack Naval Base project in the Gulf of Sirte.

Since settling permanently in South Africa in 1982, he has been both project engineer and project manager on a number of Eskom projects, including Tutuka, Majuba, Palmiet and Koeberg Power Stations and headed the civil and building project management function in Eskom’s then Engineering Group. In 1989 he was made a Corporate Consultant for the procurement and contract management affairs of Eskom, a position he held for 8 years. It was during this time that he became involved in the early development of the New Engineering Contract, and with Eskom’s support was seconded to the UK to assist with the final development right up to publication of the first edition in 1993.

Andrew has been a member of the NEC drafting Panel for the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) in London since inception and has had a substantial role in drafting most of the NEC3 family of documents. He was made a Fellow of the ICE in 1994.

He is on the executive committee of ICE-SA (a Division of SAICE), co-author of the book, NEC and Partnering: The Guide to Building Winning Teams, and has presented papers and been invited as a guest speaker at conferences and seminars in UK, China, Holland, Nepal, Botswana, Zimbabwe and South Africa.